top of page

Eight New Countries Join Saudi Arabia's Electronic Tourist Visa Scheme

Eight New Countries Join Saudi Arabia's Electronic Tourist Visa Scheme

Saudi Arabia has expanded its electronic tourist visa program to include nationals from eight new countries, as part of its efforts to boost the tourism sector within Vision 2030. The Ministry of Tourism announced on Sunday that applicants from Azerbaijan, Albania, Uzbekistan, South Africa, Georgia, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Maldive can now apply for a tourist visa to the Kingdom either electronically or at KSA international ports of entry.

The new visa scheme is aimed at attracting more visitors to Saudi Arabia, which has up its doors to the world in recent years. The Kingdom has launched several initiatives to showcase its rich cultural heritage, natural beauty, and diverse attractions. Some of these include hosting major sporting events, such as the Formula 1 Grand Prix and the Dakar Rally, and developing mega-projects, such as NEOM and Qiddiya.

Vision 2030 is a roadmap drawn up by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman to harness the strength of Saudi Arabia, such as its strategic position, investment power, and place at the center of the Arab and Islamic worlds. The vision aims to create a vibrant society, a thriving economy, and an ambitious nation by 2030. One of the main goals of Vision 2030 is to increase the contribution of tourism to the GDP from 3% to 10% by 2030.

The Ministry of Tourism said that the new visa program will enhance the Kingdom's position as a global tourist destination and will contribute to achieving the goals of Vision 2030. The ministry also said it will continue to work with its partners to facilitate the travel procedures for tourists and provide them with a unique and exceptional experience in Saudi Arabia.


bottom of page